Advanced search Subscribe

2013 PHC Research Conference: Prizes and awards

Allies for better primary health care

PHCRIS - Best Poster award

Posters displayed at the Conference were judged by a panel of experts with the best poster selected based on the following criteria:

  • compliance with size guidelines
  • visual impact
  • content
  • clarity of message
  • bonus points for exceptional factors (3D effects, special materials, WOW factor).

The Best Poster prize was awarded at the end of the Conference.

WINNER: Paediatric Asthma Communication and Education (PACE) for Pharmacy: A Feasibility Study - Sinthia Bosnic-Anticevich, Luca Pomare, Carol Armour, Smita Shah, Amanda Elaro

Australian Association for Academic Primary Care Inc (AAAPC) - First-time presenter award

The Australian Association for Academic Primary Care sponsored a prize for best paper delivered by a first-time presenter at the Conference. The person judged as preparing and delivering the Best Paper Presentation received a certificate and a book voucher valued at $250. The award was announced at closure of the conference.

WINNER: Sarah Latreille for her presentation The Unsafe Sex? How GP's can assist young men to become safer


The AAAPC Committee selected a distinguished paper from the submitted abstracts. The selected paper was presented during the AAAPC Plenary session and the presenter received a certificate.

WINNER: Continuation of breastfeeding improves with collaborative motivational support in a cluster randomised controlled trial presented by Megan Elliott-Rudder

Australian Journal of Primary Health - Prize for best research paper

Australian Journal of Primary Health

The Australian Journal of Primary Health (AJPH) gave a prize to the best research paper relevant to the interests of the Journal, presented at the Primary Health Care Research Conference in Sydney July 2013. The prize was awarded at the end of the Conference. The prize consists of a year’s subscription to the Journal (print and online), with a congratulatory message on the Journal website. The winner’s photo will be included in PHCRIS infonet after the Conference.

Papers presented at the Conference were assessed by the AJPH Prize judging committee, consisting of the Editor in Chief, members of the Editorial Panel of the Journal and their nominees. Eligible papers were selected prior to the Conference from abstracts accepted for oral presentation, focussing on those informing critical discussion on primary and community services, integrating theory and practice and utilising perspectives from a range of disciplines. In addition, criteria for the prize included originality, rigor, relevance to primary and community health policy and practice, inclusion of relevant groups in the research, and quality of presentation.


The MJA Prize for Excellence in General Practice Research, sponsored by the RACGP and MDA National

To be considered for the MJA Prize for Excellence the paper must have been original research, published online or in print in the 2012 calendar year.  At least one author must be a qualified general practitioner and an RACGP member.  The research must have direct relevance to some aspect of GP practice (clinical, ethical, organisational and/or policy-wise). 


  • Scientific quality
  • Novelty/importance of research question
  • Applicability to/ability to inform Australian General Practice
  • Special considerations relating to research methods eg novel design, design tailored to specific population etc.

WINNER: Nicholas Zwar, Oshana Hermiz, Elizabeth Comino, Sandy Middleton, Sanjyot Vagholkar, Wei Xuan, Stephen F Wilson and Guy B Marks. Care of patients with a diagnosis of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease: a cluster randomised controlled trial. Med J Aust 2012; 197 (7): 394-398.

Key dates

22 February 2013
Closing date for abstracts

23 April 2013
Notification of acceptance of abstracts

26 April 2013
Sponsored delegate applications close

17 May 2013
Early bird registration closes

10-12 July 2013
PHC Research Conference

2013 PHC Research Conference

Useful Conference links
Major sponsors

Cancer Institute NSW

Health Workforce Australia